Maintenance modes

Maintenance modes restrict who can use Cloud Management Platform (CMP) and whether jobs run while you maintain or upgrade it

Cloud Management Platform (CMP) supports two maintenance modes:

  • Admin-only: Only CMP admins can use the CMP UI and API
  • Full: No one can use the CMP UI and API, and jobs cannot run

Admin-only maintenance mode

When Admin-only mode is enabled, all non-admin CMP users are logged out, and a message displays on all pages. Jobs are uninterrupted.

Non-admins cannot log in while the mode is enabled, including through SSO. The login page tells them that only admins can log in.

Enable admin-only maintenance mode

  1. Go to Admin > System Status.

  2. Select Enable admin-only mode.

    Screenshot of the System Status page. (opens full-size image in a new tab)

  3. Select Enable.

    Screenshot of the Enable Admin-Only Mode confirmation modal. (opens full-size image in a new tab)

Disable admin-only maintenance mode

  1. Go to Admin > System Status.
  2. Select Disable admin-only mode.
  3. Select Disable.

Full maintenance mode

Full maintenance mode is enabled automatically by the CMP upgrader.

When full maintenance mode is enabled on a CMP instance:

  • CMP UI users are redirected to a maintenance page
  • The job engine will complete running jobs, but not pick up new jobs, and will not restart once stopped

In a multi-server setup, full maintenance mode must be enabled on each server for all servers to enter it.

Enable and disable full maintenance mode

  1. As root, run the script /opt/cloudbolt/utilities/maintenance_mode.py on a CMP instance.