Snapshots

CloudBolt supports managing single-level snapshots on VMware and Nutanix servers. Two actions are provided: creating a new snapshot and reverting to a previous snapshot. Both can be seen on a server’s detail page.

Note

All snapshots taken outside of CloudBolt are ignored. CloudBolt does not support reverting to these snapshots nor will CloudBolt ever delete them.

What is a snapshot?

Snapshotting a server saves the state of the machine at its current point in time. This means marking the state of the server’s hard disk (but not virtual memory). This tool can be very useful when doing development work. If a mistake has been made, or the user otherwise wants to revert their server to the saved state, they can do so by reverting a recent snapshot.

Creating a new snapshot

From the server detail page of a VMware or Nutanix server, on the left hand side of the page a button called “Create snapshot” will be present. It will be there whether the server is currently powered on or off. To take a new snapshot of the server, click this button. A dialog will appear asking for two input values. Give the snapshot a name and description.

Submitting this dialog will create a new snapshot on the server. This snapshot will be listed in the details tab.

Note that when creating a new snapshot, CloudBolt will automatically delete any existing snapshots that it knows about. This will be done as part of a job. A link to this job will appear as a message at the top of the page once the new snapshot has been created.

Reverting to a previous snapshot

To revert a server to a snapshot, a snapshot must first exist on the server that CloudBolt has taken. On the server’s detail page, if a snapshot does exist that CB knows about, on the left hand side of the page a button called “Revert to snapshot” will be present. To revert the server to the most recent snapshot, click this button. Note that when reverting to snapshot, the current state of the server’s memory and disk will be lost.